Virtualization Technology News and Information
Broadband World Forum announces finalists of the 2017 Broadband Awards

Broadband World Forum 2017 is delighted to announce the finalists of this year's Broadband Awards. The 2017 Broadband Awards are the prestigious recognition of excellence in the broadband marketplace, celebrating the companies that have demonstrated outstanding achievements in the industry. 

All the winners across the ten categories plus the People's Choice Award will be announced on Wednesday 25 October at the 2017 Broadband Awards, which this year is being held at Berlin's Meistersaal - a classical venue that dates back to 1910 and is steeped in historical significance. The gala evening ceremony will be attended by more than 200 prominent figures from all areas of the broadband sector.

Commenting on this year's Awards finalists, Heather James, Portfolio Director at KNect365, said: "We are excited by the calibre of entries for the 2017 Broadband Awards. They demonstrate the very best accomplishments by the broadband industry over the past 12 months. The calibre this year has made the selection of the finalists a really tough challenge. And the judges will face some incredibly difficult decisions when they come to picking out the winners. All the finalists should feel very proud of their achievement. We are very much looking forward to celebrating with the finalists, sponsors and guests on 25 October - it's going to be a fantastic evening."

Voting is also now open for this year's People's Choice Award, which features nominees from multinational telecommunications firms, mobile phone operators, fibre network operators and builders, and a hybrid TV platform. The People's Choice Award is in recognition of the outstanding achievements of a person working in the broadband industry. 

This year's nominees are: Dalia Jamil Saleh Al Hassani, Section Head of Radio Solution Design, Ooredoo Oman; Emre Bertan, Lead Product Manager, Turkcell; Erling Gudmundsson, Chief Executive, Gagnaveita Reykjavikur (Reykjavik Fibre Network); Trevor Linney, Head of Access Research, BT; Fani Sazaklidou, Executive Creative and Brand Director, YouView; Asim Tewary, Vice-President, Data Science and Analytics, Verizon.

The Award is voted on by peers in the broadband industry in the run up to the Broadband World Forum 2017, which is being held in Berlin from 24-26 October. The winner will be announced at the Awards ceremony on 25 October. To vote in this year's People's Choice Award, visit

The finalists for the 2017 Broadband Awards are:

Category 1: Achievement in Fixed-Mobile Convergence
Huawei - Huawei FMC Solution
Nokia - Fixed Networks for Mobile Transport
Nokia - Nokia Hybrid Access Solution
ZTE Corporation - ZTE Cloud Native IMS Solution
ZTE Corporation - ZTE Fusion-WAN FMC leased-line Solution

Category 2: Best Consumer Facing OTT Service (TV/Media/Bundles)
Great Event TV -
Turkcell - TV+

Category 3: Broadband Delivering Social Impact
Free WiFi for Africa NPC t/a Project Isizwe - Hyper-Local Content and Employment
Innovation Drive Citizen Engagement Telefonica & Huawei - FTTH Rollout in Spain
nbn Australia - nbn Sky Muster Satellite Broadband
PT. Telkom Akses - Indihome Triple Play
ZTE Corporation - Ethio Telecom & ZTE proposal

Category 4: Best Smart Home Network
DSP Group - Ultra Low Energy (ULE) Technology for IoT
Deutsche Telekom & Huawei - Speedport Smart (The Next Generation Home Gateway)
Nokia - Autonomous Customer Care
Telekom Research and Development sdn bhd - Smart Home Energy Monitoring System (BeLyfe)
ZTE Corporation - ZTE Smart Door Lock
Zyxel Communications Corp. - Zyxel MULTY PRO

Category 5: Achievement in Network Virtualization
Adtran - Adtran Mosaic
China Unicom and Huawei - TSDN Solution
Nokia - Nokia Software-Defined Access Networks
ZTE Corporation - ZTE vBRAS Solution
ZTE Corporation - VEON & ZTE SDN based NFVI Solution

Category 6: Customer Choice Award
Bharti Airtel - Bharti Airtel Fixed Line Modernization
Hyperoptic - Hyperoptic ultrafast,full fibre broadband
Porto Seguro Conecta - Wireless full MVNO in Brazil
Reykjavik Fibre Network (Gagnaveita Reykjavikur) - Single Setup

Category 7: Best consumer 1Gbps service based on G.Fast or DOCSIS 3.1
TDC & Huawei - the Europe first DOCSIS 3.1 network 
Swisscom & Huawei - Swisscom's 1Gbps Service Based on Huawei's One-Stop Solutions
ZTE Corporation and NetCologne GmbH - Smooth Transition to the Future: NetCologne & ZTE's Solution
Nokia - software-defined micronodes

Category 8: Best consumer 10Gbps service based on next-generation PON
HUAWEI & PCCW - Huawei 10G PON Solution
SKB South Korea - 10Gbps Next-generation PON
Telekom Research & Development Sdn Bhd - Highspeed 10Gbps Symmetrical Access Network Solution (Avengers)

Category 9: Best Fixed Access Solution
ADTRAN - ADTRAN Gigabit with GTTB model
PT Telkom Akses - Indihome Triple Play
Huawei - Huawei CloudFAN Solution
Huawei - Huawei SuperVector Solution
ZTE Corporation - Flagship Optical Access Platform for Next Decade-ZTE TITAN
InCoax Networks - MoCA Access 2.5 - The Multi-Gigabit Access Standard over existing in-building infrastructure 
ZTE Corporation - ZTE Flexible and Cost-Effective Combo PON Solution

Category 10: Best Wireless Broadband Solution
Liberty Global - Connect App
nbn Australia - nbn Sky Muster Satellite Broadband
ZTE Corporation - ZTE eWBB Solution
ZTE Corporation - ZTE 5G-Oriented Massive MIMO Solution
ZTE Corporation - ZTE 5G-Oriented EPC solution
Zyxel Communications Corp. - LTE3300 Series

The Judges for the 2017 Broadband Awards are:

  • Daniel Brower, SVP, Program Officer & Strategic Projects, Deutsche Telekom
  • Alzbeta Fellenbaum, Senior Analyst, Broadband, IHS Markit
  • Robin Mersh, CEO, Broadband Forum
  • Dario Talmesio, Principal Analyst, Ovum
  • Gary McLaren, CTO, HKBN
  • Kamalini Ganguli, Senior Analyst, Ovum
Published Wednesday, October 04, 2017 7:49 AM by David Marshall
Filed under: ,
There are no comments for this post.
To post a comment, you must be a registered user. Registration is free and easy! Sign up now!
<October 2017>