Virtualization Technology News and Information
An Overview Of VMware Certification


In a growing IT field, VMware certifications are an aspect for moving forward your career in the network virtualization field and reaching your full earning potential. There are few changes that took place recently in the VMware certification program. It has made the selection process of determining what you need to do in order to keep your certifications up-to-date very critical.

Let's have a quick overview of the certification.

The VMware certification is an industry-recognized credential designed for IT professionals to successfully install, deploy, scale and manage VMware vSphere environments. The VMware certification objectives are:
  • Deploying a vCenter Server appliance

  • Migrating VMs using vSphere vMotion

  • Managing virtual machines with vCenter Server

  • Deploying and maintaining thin-provisioned VMs

  • Using vCenter Update Manager to apply patches

  • Deploying an ESXi host and vCenter Server instance

  • Using vSphere Web Client to manage virtual infrastructure

  • Using vCenter Server to manage access control and resource usage

  • Using vCenter Server to manage ESXi host, storage, and networking

  • Using vCenter Server to manage High Availability, Fault Tolerance, and Data Protection

VMware certifications are based on a version of the associated technology, which means VMware certifications changes with the technology modifications. The Version 5/5.5 certifications have been retired, and now Version 6 certifications will also phase out as new exams for Version 7 are released. There are only two Version 7 certifications available. We are discussing the requirements for Version 6 in this article, but we'll point out the Version 7 certifications where applicable. VMware Version 6 certifications fall into four categories:

  • Desktop and Mobility

  • Network Virtualization

  • Data Center Virtualization

  • Cloud Management and Automation

Each category offers various certification levels, such as:

  • VMware Certified Associate (VCA)

  • VMware Certified Professional (VCP)

  • VMware Certified Design Expert (VCDX)

  • VMware Certified Implementation Expert (VCIX)

  • VMware Certified Advanced Professional (VCAP)

Associate certifications require passing a single exam to achieve certification.

The retirement of the exam does not impact the status of certification holders who achieved certification by taking that exam. The related certification remains valid until its date of expiration.

So, what are you waiting for? Start your prep for VMware certification today with uCertify.


uCertify, was founded on the belief that we "learn by doing" and interactivity is the key to effective learning, using virtual environments where students learn by doing. The virtual environment encourages safe exploration and experimentation resulting in better learning. A uCertify platform is equally effective for self-paced, instructor-led or blended learning.  

Published Tuesday, January 30, 2018 8:29 AM by David Marshall
There are no comments for this post.
To post a comment, you must be a registered user. Registration is free and easy! Sign up now!
<January 2018>