Virtualization Technology News and Information
Versa Networks Achieves Common Criteria EAL4+ Certification Further Validating the Security and Controls of its SASE and Secure SD-WAN Operating System
Versa Networks announced it has completed the stringent Common Criteria (CC) Certification process against the EAL4+ baseline for its Versa Operating System (VOS), which is the foundation for the Versa Unified SASE and Versa Secure SD-WAN solutions. 

The internationally recognized Common Criteria cybersecurity certification framework is used to evaluate the security readiness of technology products for critical infrastructure, such as energy grids, financial trading networks, and communication networks. This is another important milestone which highlights Versa Networks' continued commitment to providing the highest level of security assurance to customers facing heightened cybersecurity concerns.

"As a former Common Criteria consultant, evaluator and lab director, I can attest to the difficulties of completing high-assurance evaluations against EAL4+ requirements," said Ken Lasoski, Director of Federal Compliance at Versa Networks. "Evaluations of this nature and complexity have been known to span more than a year and consume countless resources, and success is never a guarantee. Versa Networks is proud to have achieved this incredibly important milestone in our security and compliance journey in short order."

What is the Common Criteria security assurance framework?

The Common Criteria for Information Technology Security Evaluation (ISO 15408, or "CC") is an international standard and framework for cybersecurity testing and certification of commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) products. EAL4+ (Evaluation Assurance Level 4 - augmented) is the highest level of security assurance that is mutually recognized among EU nations that are part of the European SOGIS-Mutual Recognition Agreement. SOGIS-MRA became effective in April 2010 and provides mutual recognition of certificates based on the Common Criteria (CC) Evaluation Assurance Level up to and including EAL4 for all IT products. The broader Common Criteria Recognition Arrangement (CCRA) provides certification reciprocity up to EAL2 between the 31 countries that have adopted the CC, including U.S., Canada, Germany, France, U.K., Spain, Italy, Norway, Sweden, India, Israel, Turkey, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, and South Korea.

CC EAL4+ certification provides high assurance of a product's security functionality and hardening through independent third-party assessment by an accredited laboratory. This covers a broad range of security functions including auditing, access control, encryption, identification and authentication, secure administration, tamper resistance, and trusted communication paths. In addition, it involves a comprehensive audit of a product's design and source code, development lifecycle security controls and practices, release management process, QA, and vulnerability management procedures.

Published Monday, December 11, 2023 10:36 AM by David Marshall
Filed under:
There are no comments for this post.
To post a comment, you must be a registered user. Registration is free and easy! Sign up now!
<December 2023>